# Special Meeting

# Board of Trustees Coast Community College District

District Board Room- 5:30 p.m.

April 16, 2008

# MINUTES

A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Coast Community College District was held on April 16, 2008 in the Board Room at the District Office.

# 1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 5:40 p.m., by Board President Armando Ruiz.

## 2. Pledge of Allegiance

Trustee Howald led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America.

# 3. Roll Call

**Trustees Present:** Mary Hornbuckle, Walter Howald, Jim Moreno, Jerry Patterson, President Ruiz, and Paul Bunch

Others in attendance were: Staff – K. Yglesias, J. Quarles, A. Adan, S. Badenoch, J. Black, W. Bryan, J. Burton. B. Cooper, D. Currie, N. Davis, J. DeBattista, B. Dees, R. Drew, J. Fawcett, B. Fey, C. Flowers, S. Gilbert, C. Grimes, J. Hanna, A. Holliday, N. Hill, S. Jaglowski, J. Kawamura, G. Kane, J. Leighton, W. Lo, D. Mancina, E. Maurer, R. Mendoza, S. Nguyen, M. Ochoa, V. Oviatt, R. Pagel, M. Parham, M. Perkins, C. Phillips, J. Quarles, J. Rodriguez, V. Rodriguez, H. Rothgeb, W. Sacket, V. Salcedo, K. Shannon, G. Sjule, N. Sprague, A. Stilson, C. Stewart, L. Swancutt, C. Teeter, L.Thissel, D. Thompson, L. Venham, A. Wheeler, G. Wight, L. Wojciechowski, D. Wolf, S. Wolf, R. Wood, Q. Xa.

## 4. Opportunity for Public Comment

There were no requests to address the Board under Public Comment.

#### 5. Adopt Agenda

It was moved by Ms. Hornbuckle and seconded by Mr. Howald to adopt the Agenda.

Motion carried with the following vote: Aye – Ms. Hornbuckle, Mr. Howald, Mr. Moreno, Mr. Patterson, and President Ruiz.

### 6. Presentation of Service Awards

Service Awards were presented in five-year increments for anniversary dates beginning with 5 years and ending with 45 years of service to the District. After the awards were presented, Board President Ruiz thanked the award recipients, on behalf of the Board, and acknowledged them for their dedication to the District.

### 8. Adjournment

It was moved by Mr. Howald and seconded by Mr. Moreno to adjourn the meeting. The motion was carried with the following vote: Aye - Ms. Hornbuckle, Mr. Howald, Mr. Moreno, Mr. Patterson, and President Howald.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:15 p.m.

Secretary of the Board