Special Meeting

Board of Trustees Coast Community College District

District Board Room

6:30 p.m. Special Meeting

May 6, 2009

MINUTES

A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Coast Community College District was held on May 6, 2009 in the Board Room at the District Office.

1. Call to Order

Board President Jim Moreno called the meeting to order at 6:36 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Trustees Present: Mary Hornbuckle, Walter G. Howald, Jim Moreno, Jerry Patterson, Lorraine Prinsky, and Student Trustee Michael Battistone

Trustees Absent: None

3. Opportunity for Public Comment (Items on the Agenda)

There were no requests to speak during Public Comment.

4. Recess to Closed Session

The Board recessed to Closed Session at 6:39 p.m.

5. Closed Session

The Board recessed to Closed Session to discuss the following items:

- a. Conference with Legal Counsel: Anticipated Litigation (Pursuant to Government Code Section 54956.9(c) 1 Case
- b. Public Employment (Pursuant to Government Code Section 54957)
 - i. Acting President, Coastline Community College

6. Report from Closed Session (if any)

The Board reconvened to Open Session of the meeting at 6:53 p.m. to report on action taken during Closed Session.

It was reported by Christian Teeter, Secretary of the Board of Trustees that on a motion by Mr. Patterson and seconded by Mr. Howald, the Board voted unanimously to approve a Tolling Agreement with PLATO Learning.

Motion carried with the following vote:

Aye: Mr. Moreno, Mr. Patterson, Mr. Howald, Dr. Prinsky, and Ms. Hornbuckle

No: None Absent: None

Mr. Teeter also reported that on a motion by Mr. Patterson and seconded by Ms. Hornbuckle, the Board voted unanimously to appoint as Acting President, Coastline Community College, Dr. Cheryl Babler for the period of May 7, 2009 through July 31, 2009, Dr. Vangie Meneses for the period of August 1, 2009 through September 30, 2009 and Mr. Kevin McElroy for the period of October 1, 2009 through November 30, 2009.

Motion carried with the following vote:

Aye: Mr. Moreno, Mr. Patterson, Mr. Howald, Dr. Prinsky, and Ms. Hornbuckle

No: None Absent: None

7. Report from 2009 Chancellor Search Committee

Dr. Prinsky reported that Dr. Narcissa Polonio of ACCT held an open forum at each of the three campuses and the District Office to gather information from staff, faculty, administration and the community as to what they are seeking in a new Chancellor.

Dr. Prinsky further reported that at the Chancellor Search Committee organizational meeting held on April 29, 2009, the committee voted unanimously to elect Ms. Bonnie Bruce committee Chair. Ms. Bruce was introduced to the Board of Trustees by Dr. Prinsky.

8. Review of Chancellor Position Profile

Ms. Bonnie Bruce, Chair of the Chancellor Search Committee reported that the committee will be meeting on May 14, 2009 to review comments and suggestions gathered for

consideration for the Chancellor Position Profile and that the committee will submit the profile to the Board of Trustees at the May 20, 2009 Board Meeting for approval.

9. Adjournment

There being no further business, it was moved by Mr. Moreno and seconded by Ms. Hornbuckle that the meeting be adjourned.

Motion carried with the following vote:

Ave:	Mr Moreno	, Mr. Patterson	N/lr	Howald	Dr	Drineky	and Me	Hornbuckla
AVC.	IVIII. IVIOLETIO.	. IVII. I allelouli		i iowaiu.	υ ι.	I IIIIONV.	and Mo.	I IOIIIDUCKIC

No: None Absent: None

The meeting adjourned at 7:06 p.m.

Se